Like a Surgeon

Every January I talk about how I’m going to become a better blogger. By the time February rolls around I realize that that’s a lie. I hope to change that this year. There are going to be a lot of changes. I have already started some. But first I’d like to catch you up on what’s been going on in my life.

As you know my thyroid hates me and has been plotting against me since 2012. At the end of 2015, I was taken off of the anti-thyroid medications that had been bogging me down for the previous 3 years. Not only were they cramping my style (because of like a thousand side effects), they were damaging my liver. My new Endo was like “Woah man! We need to take you off that crap like right meow.” Okay, she said it more professionally, but you get the idea. So she took me off the meds and I started seeing rainbows and cartoon birds everywhere I went. Well not really, but I was starting to feel better. I wasn’t as lethargic and I actually felt like doing things. My chronic back pain wasn’t as bad and I was able to go to the gym and work on my fitness with Fergie. Towards the end of the year, I had lost 30 pounds and I thought that it could only get better. Sike! I started feeling crappy again. My tremors were back and so was my lethargy and chronic pain. I shook my fists at the heavens and yelled “Why!?!” while rain poured on my face and dramatic music played in the background. I went back to my Endo so she could run some tests and charge me 5 million dollars. Her conclusion? I was hyperactive again. Not just a little, but super, turbo hyper active. My Graves antibodies were through the roof. They are supposed to be at 35 or lower. Mine were a little over 2,000. Yes, I used three zeros there. With this news she gave me two options: remove it with surgery or kill it with radioactive iodine. The second one seemed sketch, so I was like “yeah give me that surgery,yo.” Just kidding I don’t really talk like that, but you know what I mean. Another reason I picked the surgery was because my sister had it done lasted year and it turned out very well for her. Fast forward to today, I met with my surgeon. This was the same surgeon that my sister had, the one recommended to me by my Endo. He did an exam on my neck and said I didn’t have any nodules (which I already knew), nor did I have cancer (which I also already knew). He said that because I had neither, he didn’t think that I should get the surgery. That was a relief because I really didn’t want the surgery. That just left me with the sketch radioactive iodine. Rut row. The surgeon and I discussed it though and it actually doesn’t seem so bad. He said that there may be some side effects, but that they’d be temporary. I’d also have to get a hotel room for a few days because I couldn’t be around people. So for this treatment, I take a pill that kills my thyroid and then I get to avoid people for a few days. Sounds like a win for me. I also wont have to miss as much work as I had originally thought which is nice. A couple of downsides to not having the surgery is I won’t get to have a cool battle scar that matches my sister’s. I also won’t get to keep Lestrade (my thyroid) in a jar. Haha that would have been gross and I totally wouldn’t have done it? Now all I have to do is wait to hear from my Endo telling me when to come in and get the treatment. Hopefully soon so I can just get it over with. Well I think I’ve bored you enough for tonight. That’s pretty much all I’ve been up to. If I think of more I will make another post later. I’m also going to make some 2017 goal blog posts so look for those. For now, Adieu.

[Side note: how I named my thyroid Lestrade. Greg Lestrade from BBC Sherlock is played by Rupert Graves. I have Graves Disease that is causing my thyroid problems. Well I thought I was being funny at least.]

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ms. Health-Esteem
    Jan 16, 2017 @ 14:25:57

    I hope you get to have your procedure soon and feel better in no time <3.

    Reply

  2. MadMusings
    Jan 18, 2017 @ 23:02:38

    Thank you for that! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

